About Us

What is a Constituency Labour Party (CLP)?

A Constituency Labour Party (CLP) is an organisation of members of the British Labour Party who live in a particular UK parliamentary constituency in England, Scotland and Wales. We serve the Rayleigh and Wickford constituency.

Learn more

Meet the team

Chair – David Flack

david-flackDavid has lived in Hullbridge for over 40 years and was for many years a councillor in the Parish, Rochford District Council and Essex County Council. In these roles, he secured a number of key local improvement projects, including flood and erosion prevention works, the creation of Kendall Park and the neighbouring bus terminus.

A retired headteacher, psychologist and physicist, David brings his years of experience to the CLP in continuing his efforts to strive for changes across the constituency that will benefit all.

As Chair, David is responsible for fostering the overarching strategies and vision of the CLP as well as making sure that the management committee functions properly.

Get in touch with David at d.flack@rayleighwickfordlabour.org.uk

Vice Chair – Sam Reed

sam_reedSam has lived in Rayleigh for 7 years and her dad, grandparents and great grandparents were from Rayleigh. She works at a local authority ensuring vulnerable residents’ needs are met by arranging the installation of aids and adaptations.

Sam has a child who attends one of the local schools and is a passionate supporter of a public NHS. She arranged a petition in the run up to the 2015 general election where signatures were handed to the local MP candidates and was covered in the local press. Sam is also a member of Keep Our NHS Public.

A Steward for Unison, Sam works to ensure workers’ rights are protected and fights against austerity cuts to public services. She joined the Labour Party in 2015 to oppose austerity politics both locally and nationally and give a voice to those marginalised by these unnecessary measures. As Vice Chair, Sam is deputy for the Chair in ensuring the strategies and vision of the CLP and the management committee functions properly.

Get in touch with Sam at s.reed@rayleighwickfordlabour.org.uk

Vice Chair – Peter Towler

Get in touch with Peter at p.towler@rayleighwickfordlabour.org.uk

Secretary – role vacant
Vice Secretary – Louize Catling

Louize joined the Labour party last year to contribute to her local community and to confront the current government’s austerity policies which are inflicting unreasonably high levels of hardship on the most vulnerable in our society. Particularly in housing, education, unemployment, health, and care of the elderly.

Having lived in Wickford for almost 20 years, is currently a full time Mother and Grandmother. Her youngest child attends a local secondary school and the grandchildren attend a local Rayleigh Primary school. A graduate from the University of Essex, studying Philosophy, Politics and Literature. Was a member of the Musicians union and subsequently the TGWU (now Unite) in the 1980’s when it wasn’t fashionable to be in a union. Louize was also a governor at a local Basildon school for 8 years.

Louize has helped with national mental health charities in continuing towards a better understanding of the needs of those experiencing difficult mental health. And was a large contributor to research into suicide prevention in 2012. She continues to bring a greater awareness to those around her as an increasing number of children now show symptoms of mental health problems.

Louize has also been involved in setting up local support groups to help those facing tough times socially, mentally or financially. And wants to champion for all Mental health difficulties to be acknowledged and a firm foundation from diagnosis through treatment and recovery and long term management.

As Vice Secretary she is responsible for supporting the Secretary to ensure the smooth functioning of the CLP through organising and minuting meetings as well as other administration work.

Get in touch with Louize at l.catling@rayleighwickfordlabour.org.uk

Digital Media Secretary – Neil Martin

neil-martinCurrently working as an Mac systems administrator in the higher education sector with a background in IT training and sound engineering, Neil has lived in Rayleigh for 8 years. He recently joined the Labour Party for both local and national reasons; to contribute to his local community and to stand up against the current government’s austerity policies which have had an unfair, negative effect on many people from all walks of life, especially the most vulnerable.

As Digital Media Secretary, Neil manages the CLP’s website (you’re looking at it now!), Twitter feed and Facebook page. He is also responsible for servicing the day to day IT needs of the CLP and its management committee.

Get in touch with Neil at n.martin@rayleighwickfordlabour.org.uk

Treasurer – Myra Weir

myra-weirMyra has a wealth of experience as both a Parish councillor and former school governor.  She is active in the local community, running the Rochford Day Centre and chairs the Old Peoples Welfare Committe for Rochford and District.

Myra is vocal in opposition to the closure of many local resources including children’s centres, police stations and colleges.

As Treasurer, Myra is responsible for all aspects of the financial management of the CLP including budgeting, bookkeeping and reporting to CLP meetings.

Women’s officer – Michaela Hoyle

Michaela lives in Hockley and has a daughter at a local primary school. She is passionate about equality and has used her career in education to try and ensure that members of our community have the chance to lead successful and fulfilled lives. This has included teaching functional English and employability skills, mentoring work, and delivering equality workshops in schools. She is particularly keen to help more women become involved in politics and would welcome ideas from members in this respect.

Get in touch with Michaela at m.hoyle@rayleighwickfordlabour.org.uk

Youth officer – Will Taylor

Get in touch with Will at w.taylor@rayleighwickfordlabour.org.uk

About the Rayleigh and Wickford Constituency

RayleighWickford2007Constituency-2The Rayleigh and Wickford UK Parliament constituency was created in 2010 by Mark Francois, Conservative MP, resulting in the abolition of the previous Rayleigh seat in Parliament.

Learn more

It encompasses the following wards from the Basildon and Rochford districts:

  • Downhall and Rawreth
  • Hawkwell East
  • Hawkwell West
  • Hockley
  • Hockley and Ashingdon
  • Hullbridge
  • Lodge
  • Roche North and Rural
  • Sweyne Park and Grange
  • Trinity
  • Wheatley
  • Wickford Castledon
  • Wickford North
  • Wickford Park

Find out which ward you’re in